committed truck for web

Three Positions Open on VEC Board of Directors 

February 8, 2019

Johnson, VT – The Vermont Electric Cooperative (VEC) is seeking petitions from eligible candidates for three seats on its twelve-member board of directors. Elections will conclude during VEC’s Annual Meeting of the Membership on Saturday, May 11 at Jay Peak Resort.

Every year co-op members elect local representatives to serve on the board. Directors participate in setting policies and mak­ing decisions and are expected to represent the interests of the VEC membership. Terms are for four years.

In order to run for the board, a candidate must be a VEC member and have a principal residence within VEC service territory and in the district they are running to represent. Employees of the co-op are not eligible to serve on the board.

Board responsibilities include participating in monthly board meetings and committee activities. The board generally meets in the afternoon on the last Tuesday of each month at VEC's main office in Johnson. Directors receive a stipend and mileage reimbursement for attending meetings and have training opportunities to learn more about energy issues and the cooperative model.

Below is a list of the three seats that are open and the towns they represent:

District 1

Averill, Averys Gore, Barton, Bloomfield, Brighton, Brownington, Brunswick, Canaan, Charleston, Ferdinand, Guildhall, Holland, Lemington, Lewis, Lyndon, Maidstone, Morgan, Newark, Norton, Sheffield, Sutton, Warners Grant, Warren Gore, Westmore, Wheelock 

District 6

Berkshire, Enosburg, Franklin, Georgia, Highgate, Montgomery, Richford, Sheldon, St. Albans Town, Swanton. 

West Zone At-large

Alburgh, Bakersfield, Belvidere, Berkshire, Bolton, Cambridge, Eden, Enosburg, Essex, Fairfax, Fairfield, Fletcher, Franklin, Georgia, Grand Isle, Highgate, Hinesburg, Huntington, HydePark, Isle LaMotte, Jericho,  Johnson, Milton, Montgomery, Morristown, North Hero, Richford, Richmond, Sheldon, Shelburne, South Hero, Starksboro, Stowe, St. Albans Town, St. George, Swanton, Underhill, Waterville, Westford, Williston

Completed applications, including a petition signed by VEC members, are due by 4:30 p.m. on Thursday, March 21. The election will take place from April 16 through May 10 by mail and online as well as in person at VEC's annual meeting on Saturday, May 11. Please call 802-730-1172 to request application materials.