committed truck for web

Five Candidates Seek Three VEC Director Seats 

April 5, 2018

Johnson, VT- Five candidates are vying for three open seats this year on the board of the Vermont Electric Co-op (VEC). The election will open April 17 and will end, and winners will be declared, at the VEC Annual Meeting at Smugglers’ Notch Resort May 12.

Every year, co-op members elect local representatives to serve on VEC’s twelve-member board. Directors participate in setting policies and mak­ing decisions and are expected to represent the interests of the VEC membership.

Specifically, this year there will be elections for the single seat in each of three of VEC’s districts. In District 3 the candidate is running unopposed for the seat and in districts 4 and 5 there are contests, with two candidates vying for the single seat in each district. Candidate statements are available here.

Here are the specifics, by district:

In District 3 (Albany, Craftsbury, Glover, Greensboro, Irasburg, Jay, Lowell, Newport Town, Troy, Westfield) Carol Maroni of Craftsbury is running unopposed.

In District 4 (Bakersfield, Belvidere, Cambridge, Eden, Fairfax, Fairfield, Fletcher, Hyde Park, Johnson, Morristown, Stowe, Waterville ) there is a contest between Jody Dunklee of Fairfax and Mark Woodward of Johnson.

In District 5 (Bolton, Essex, Hinesburg, Huntington, Jericho, Milton, Richmond, Shelburne, Starksboro, St. George, Underhill, Westford, Williston) Schuyler Jackson of Hinesburg and Charlie Van Winkle of Underhill are in a contest for the single seat.

“VEC’s annual director election provides members with an important opportunity to exercise their voices as member-owners,” said Victoria Brown, VEC’s interim CEO.  

VEC's election will take place by mail and online. Members in the districts where there will be elections should look for information and ballots in the mail after April 17.