VEC will host its 79th Annual Meeting of the Membership on May 6, 2017 at Jay Peak Resort.  VEC’s annual meeting and election are great opportunities for members to exercise their voice. Since VEC is a cooperative, members elect local representatives to serve on the Board of Directors, which sets VEC policy.

VEC is seeking petitions from eligible candidates for four positions on the Board of Directors that will open in May of 2017. The positions for District 2, East Zone, and West Zone will each for a full four-year term. The position for District 6 will be for the remainder of the current director’s term, which expires in May of 2019.

Below is a list of the seats that are up for election and the towns they represent:

District 6 – Term expires in 2019
Berkshire, Enosburg, Franklin, Georgia, Highgate, Montgomery, Richford, Sheldon, St. Albans Town, Swanton

District 2 – Four-year Term
Coventry, Derby, Newport City

East Zone At-Large – Four-year Term
Albany, Averill, Averys Gore, Barton, Bloomfield, Brighton, Brownington, Brunswick, Canaan, Charleston, Conventry, Craftsbury, Derby, Ferdinand, Glover, Greensboro, Guildhall, Holland, Irasburg, Jay,  Lemington, Lewis, Lowell, Lyndon, Maidstone, Morgan, Newark, Newport City, Newport Town, Norton, Sheffield, Sutton, Troy, Warners Grant, Warren Gore, Westfield, Westmore, and Wheelock

West Zone At-Large – Four-year Term
Alburgh, Bakersfield, Belvidere, Berkshire, Bolton, Cambridge, Eden, Enosburg, Essex, Fairfax, Fairfield, Fletcher, Franklin, Georgia, Grand Isle, Highgate, Hinesburg, Huntington, Hyde Park, Isle LaMotte, Jericho,  Johnson, Milton, Montgomery, Morristown, North Hero, Richford, Richmond, Sheldon, Shelburne, South Hero, Starksboro, Stowe, St. Albans Town, St. George, Swanton, Underhill, Waterville, Westford, and Williston.

To serve on the Board, a candidate must be a VEC member, may not be employed by the Cooperative, and may not in any way be employed by or have financial interests in a business selling electric energy or supplies to the Cooperative. Candidates must have a principal residence within VEC service territory and in the district or zone in which they are running for election.

VEC is seeking candidates who have the ability and time to fulfill the responsibilities of the Board, which include participating in monthly board meetings and committee activities. The Board generally meets in the afternoon on the last Tuesday of each month at VEC's main office in Johnson.  Directors receive a stipend and mileage reimbursement for attending meetings and have training opportunities to learn more about energy issues and the cooperative model.

Completed applications, including a petition signed by VEC members, are due by 4:30 p.m. on Thursday, March 16. Voting will take place by mail and online from April 11 through May 5 and in person at VEC's annual meeting on Saturday, May 6. Please call 802-730-1172 to request application materials.